Dreamcatcher Company

Label Facts

Dreamcatcher Company is an entertainment company which was founded under the name Harvest Entertainment on August 15th, 2008 by E-Tribe, a record producer duo consisting of Ahn Myung-won and Kim Young-deuk.

The agency debuted their first artist Nassun, who featured in Lee Hyo-ri's 2008 smash hit U-Go-Girl, produced by E-Tribe. Through the launch of this single E-Tribe, Nassun and the agency became known in public. The single experienced enormous success, charting at number one on South Korea's Gaon Chart for two straight months and claiming over ten year-end awards. A Japanese version of the song was released in 2010 with composition credits still belonging to E-Tribe. On January 23th, 2009 the label was renamed to Happy Face Entertainment.

In early 2009 the Rap-pop duo One Two which was established in 2003, signed a contract with Happy Face Entertainment. The duo released several singles before their disbandment end of 2010. The agency briefly worked with HybRefine and Sanchez now known as Phantom in 2010 to produce the singles "You Can Fly", "Cosmic Dance", "Rain U", and "Sanchez-San Toi". By end of 2010 the first idol group Dal Shabet was formed due to the past success of E-Tribe’s productions.

On May 4, 2011, it was announced that Happy Face Entertainment would be merging with Y-WHO Enterprise. Nam Hyun-joon a famous breakdancer and recording artist and his wife Park Aeri signed a contract with Happy Face on July 31, 2014. In September 2014, Happy Face Entertainment debuted its first girl group MINX since Dal Shabet three years ago consisting of five members. The boy group V.O.S. signed in 2015 with Happy Face for their comeback.

In January 2017, MINX was reformed to a seven-member girl group and was renamed to Dreamcatcher. At the beginning of 2017 Happy Face Entertainment launched their first sub-label named HF Music Company. On January 31, 2017 Kpop Star 5 contestant Lee Si-eun signed an exclusive contract with HF Music Company. In April 2017, the label send their four male trainee to participate in the second season of Produce 101. In August 2017, the label debuted trio Classmate.

In December 2017, the contracts of the Dal Shabet members Serri, Subin and Ah Young expired and left the company. Happy Face Entertainment stated that Dal Shabet should not be disbanded and future activities of the four-member group remains to be discussed. Happy Face Entertainment was renamed to Dreamcatcher Company in February 2019. This happened to put the focus more on the group with the same name. Furthermore it was announce that the group will have their own subsidiary.

Signed Artists

  • Dal Shabet
  • Dreamcatcher
  • One Two
  • HybRefine
  • Sanchez
  • Bebe Mignon
  • Dal Shabet
  • 4Men
  • Ben
  • V.O.S
  • Nam Hyun-joon
  • Park Aeri

Sources for this article was own research.